Failure is more important than success

October 5, 2023

0 min read
  • Failure
  • Success
  • Confidence Level
  • Working Hard
  • Discipline

Failure is more important than success

If you're not failing, you're not trying

Ronny Rahman

Written By

Ronny Rahman

Ronny created this blog to showcase his skills in building a blog using modern technology. On a personal level, he wanted to share his thoughts about various aspects of life and talk about his perception of it.

View Bio

Introduction

When I was working as Front End Developer at iTech Media there was a really good work culture with so many talented people, plus there were individuals who loved singing or playing an instrument plus other forms of performance in a crowd.

I took encouragement from this and thought and looked at the possibility of performing magic tricks. The first step I took in learning magic was watching Penn and Teller Masterclass - Teach the Art of Magic.

The idea of performing in a crowd is daunting. I had the same feeling. However, watching this video of actor Denzel Washington making a speech of failure and success became a solid foundation for life for me. Highly recommend to everyone.

My bucket list

Everyone has a bucket list. Some people have it goal-oriented such as starting a family, getting a pet, and then buying a first home. Some may have a holiday bucket list travelling areas in Europe, cities in South America as well as states in the United States of America, etc.

When I started working at iTech Media I began to imagine a bucket list where I am testing my skills performing in these five areas:

  • Magic
  • Performing on instrument
  • Singing
  • Dancing
  • Stand-up comedy

I have performed in a big crowd magic tricks during my time at iTech Media. I sometimes even messed up a magic trick my mindset of accepting failure helped me get over it and think of the bigger picture of how to rectify the mistake if I did the trick again.

At the Office Christmas party at Itech Media in 2019 I performed Charlie Puth's soundtrack See You Again on the keyboard. That was more nervous compared to doing a magic trick. Obviously, it was my first time doing something music-related I was focused on getting every note on the keyboard correct. There were times when I hit the wrong note but whilst learned to be mindset of finishing the musical piece even if there were errors along the way. Honestly, the satisfaction of hearing everyone clap was a peaceful moment for me.

In the future, I would like to sing. I have a song in my mind I would like to sing and it is a Bollywood song called Dil Cheeze Tujhe Dedi. During the singing I would like to perform a dance routine I have in mind.

I think the hardest of the 5 talents to showcase will be stand-up comedy for me because I would never consider myself a funny guy. So to be funny for a set number of minutes and speaking and being creative with funny jokes will be a daunting test, but a challenge I will be excited about when that time comes in my life.

I know it is a weird bucket list to have but I strongly believe the hardest talent or skill to work on is performing in front of a crowd, because of the fear of failing or experiencing hecklers and overcoming everything to perform.

Talent vs. Hard Work

Regardless of the talent you have in a field, you need to put in the hard work so you can perfect your craft. The same applies to me as a Website Developer I have to stay on top of the new technologies coming out pretty much every day so I'm not left behind.

Conclusion

The bottom line is your failures make you the person you are, because you can use them as strength to overcome a hurdle or a problem you are having in a work-related task or personal accomplishment.

Ronny Rahman

Written By

Ronny Rahman

Ronny created this blog to showcase his skills in building a blog using modern technology. On a personal level, he wanted to share his thoughts about various aspects of life and talk about his perception of it.

View Bio